G-5 Visa

G-5 Classification

  • Attendants, servants and personal employees of G-1 to G-4.
  • May be admitted for 3 years, plus renewals in increments of 2 years, but extensions must be accompanied by a letter from employer describing G-5’s work.
  • Subject to inadmissibility on all grounds.
  • Congress has mandated that G-5s have labor contracts that meet certain requirements, consular interviews outside the presence of the employer, and extensions of stay to pursue legal claims against the employer. DHS/DOS may also take action against the employer.

G-4 Visa

G-4 Classification

  • Officers and employees of international organization and immediate family. Includes “personnel of any rank.”
  • Special expeditious treatment to U.N. reps, because U.S. host country.
  • Sons and daughters, widows and retirees in G-4 status can apply for permanent residence as “special immigrants.”
  • G-4s include officers and employees of INTELSAT who worked for the company prior to its privatization as long as they either held G-4 status and were employed by INTELSAT for at least 6 months prior to privatization on July 17, 2001, or held G-4 status and were employed by a successor or separated entity of INTELSAT after 6 months of employment.
  • Immediate family are also covered but attendants, servants, and personal employees of officers and employees are not.

G-3 Visa

G-3 Classification

  • G-I/G-2 from government without de jure recognition from United States.
  • Nonmember country of an international organization.

G-2 Visa

G-2 Classification

  • Representatives of a recognized government and their immediate family.
  • Military officers assisting U.N. with peacekeeping matters.
  • Attendees of course at IMF and World bank.
  • Other accredited representatives.
  • Immediate family of all above persons.

G-1 Visa

G-1 Classification

  • Principal resident representative.
  • Family and staff (of any rank, including clerical and custodial employees, so long as they are assigned on “resident basis”).
  • G-ls are for members of a permanent mission of a recognized government.
  • Foreign government has United States de jure recognition.
  • International organization listed (e.g., IMF, U.N., OAS, OAU).

What is the difference between Diplomatic and Official Visas?

Diplomat Visas

Persons holding a diplomatic passport, and eligible to receive diplomatic visa.

  • Heads of state;
  • Royal families;
  • Governor generals;
  • Cabinet members;
  • Justices of highest court;
  • Presiding members of legislatures;
  • Ambassadors;
  • Military at or above rank of brigadier general;
  • Military attache;
  • G-4 visa holders if Sec. General of U.N. or other high U.N. official or officer on diplomatic missions;
  • All immediate family members of those persons.

Official Visas

  • Persons eligible to receive diplomatic visa but not in possession of diplomatic passport.
  • A visas, C visas within INA §212(d)(8), 8 U.S.C. §1182(d)(8) [reciprocal continuous transit], and all other G visas, except G-3, unless from government recognized by U.S.
  • Members of legislatures and justices of lower courts.
  • Clerical and custodial employees attached to foreign government delegation or international organization.
  • Members of the family.
  • Servants/personal employees of diplomatic visa holders.